Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur
adipiscing elit. Etiam posuere varius
magna, ut accumsan quam pretium
vel. Duis ornare

Latest News
Follow Us
Image Alt



Delhi (/ˈdɛli/, Hindustani pronunciation: `{`dɪlliː`}` Dilli), officially the National Capital Territory of Delhi (NCT), is a city and a union territory of India containing New Delhi, the capital of India.`{`19`}``{`20`}` It is bordered by Haryana on three sides and by Uttar Pradesh to the east. The NCT covers an area of 1,484 square kilometres (573 sq mi). According to the 2011 census, Delhi's city proper population was over 11 million,`{`9`}` the second-highest in India after Mumbai, while the whole NCT's population was about 16.8 million.`{`10`}` Delhi's urban area is now considered to extend beyond the NCT boundaries and include the neighboring satellite cities of Faridabad, Gurgaon, Ghaziabad and Noida in an area now called Central National Capital Region (CNCR) and had an estimated 2016 population of over 26 million people, making it the world's second-largest urban area according to United Nations.`{`11`}` As of 2016, recent estimates of the metro economy of its urban area have ranked Delhi either the most or second-most productive metro area of India.`{`15`}``{`14`}``{`21`}``{`16`}` Delhi is the second-wealthiest city in India after Mumbai, with a total private wealth of $450 billion and is home to 18 billionaires and 23,000 millionaires.`{`22`}`

Delhi has been continuously inhabited since the 6th century BC.[23] Through most of its history, Delhi has served capital of various kingdoms and empires. It has been captured, ransacked and rebuilt several times, particularly during the medieval period, and modern Delhi is a cluster of a number of cities spread across the metropolitan region.

union territory, the political administration the NCT of Delhi today more closely resembles that state of India, with its own legislature, high court and an executive council of ministers headed by a Chief MinisterNew Delhi is jointly administered by the federal government of India and the local government of Delhi, and serves as the capital of the nation as well as the NCT of Delhi. Delhi hosted the first and ninth Asian Games in 1951 and 1982, respectively, 1983 NAM Summit2010 Men’s Hockey World Cup2010 Commonwealth Games2012 BRICS Summit and was one of the major host cities of the 2011 Cricket World Cup.

Delhi also the centre of National Capital Region (NCR), which is unique ‘interstate regional planning’ area created by National Capital Region Planning Board Act of 1985.[24][25]


Jantar Mantar

According to Euromonitor International, Delhi ranked as 28th-most visited city the world and first in India by foreign visitors in 2015.[210] There are numerous tourist attractions in Delhi, both historic and modern. The three UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Delhi, Qutb ComplexRed Fort and Humayun’s Tomb are among the finest examples of Indo-Islamic architecture.[211] Another prominent landmark of Delhi is India Gate, a 1931 built war memorial to soldiers of British Indian Army who died during First World War.[212] Delhi has several famous places of worship of various religions. One of the largest Hindu temple complexes in the world,[213] Akshardham is a major tourist attraction in the city. Other famous religious sites include Lal MandirLaxminarayan TempleGurudwara Bangla SahibLotus TempleJama Masjid and ISKCON Temple. Delhi is also a hub for shopping of all kinds. Connaught PlaceChandni ChowkSarojini NagarKhan Market and Dilli Haat are some of the major retail markets in Delhi.[214] Major shopping malls include Select Citywalk, DLF Promenade, DLF EmporioMetro Walk and Ansal Plaza.[215]

Good to Know

Visa Requirements
Visa in not needed
Languages spoken
English, Hindi
Currency used
Area (km2)
18,274 km2



An image showing a number of pots which are made traditionally, black coloured with red and green work on it.

Traditional pottery on display in Dilli Haat

Delhi’s culture has been influenced by its lengthy history and historic association as the capital of India, Although a strong Punjabi Influence can be seen in languageDress and Cuisine brought by the large number of refugees who came following the partition in 1947 the recent migration from other parts of India has made it a melting pot. This is exemplified by many significant monuments in the city. Delhi is also identified as the location of Indraprastha, the ancient capital of the Pandavas. The Archaeological Survey of India recognises 1,200 heritage buildings[185] and 175 monuments as national heritage sites.[186]

In the Old City, the Mughals and the Turkic rulers constructed several architecturally significant buildings, such as the Jama Masjid—India’s largest mosque[187] built in 1656[188] and the Red Fort. Three World Heritage Sites—the Red Fort, Qutub Minar and Humayun’s Tomb—are located in Delhi.[189] Other monuments include the India Gate, the Jantar Mantar—an 18th-century astronomical observatory—and the Purana Qila—a 16th-century fortress. The Laxminarayan templeAkshardham templeGurudwara Bangla Sahib, the Bahá’í Lotus Temple and the ISKCON temple are examples of modern architecture. Raj Ghat and associated memorials houses memorials of Mahatma Gandhi and other notable personalities. New Delhi houses several government buildings and official residences reminiscent of British colonial architecture, including the Rashtrapati Bhavan, the SecretariatRajpath, the Parliament of India and Vijay ChowkSafdarjung’s Tomb is an example of the Mughal gardens style. Some regal havelis (palatial residences) are in the Old City.[190]

Lotus Temple, is a Bahá’í House of Worship completed in 1986. Notable for its flowerlike shape, it serves as the Mother Temple of the Indian subcontinent and has become a prominent attraction in the city. The Lotus Temple has won numerous architectural awards and been featured in hundreds of newspaper and magazine articles. Like all other Bahá’í Houses of Worship, is open to all regardless of religion, or any other distinction, as emphasised in Bahá’í texts. The Bahá’í laws emphasise that the spirit of the House of Worship be that it is a gathering place where people of all religions may worship God without denominational restrictions.[191] The Bahá’í laws also stipulate that only the holy scriptures of the Bahá’í Faith and other religions can be read or chanted inside in any language; while readings and prayers can be set to music by choirs, no musical instruments can be played inside. Furthermore, no sermons can be delivered, and there can be no ritualistic ceremonies practised.[191]

The National Museum and National Gallery of Modern Art are some of the largest museums in the country. Other museums in Delhi include the National Museum of Natural HistoryNational Rail Museum and National Philatelic Museum.

Chandni Chowk, a 17th-century market, is one of the most popular shopping areas in Delhi for jewellery and Zari saris.[192] Delhi’s arts and crafts include, Zardozi[193]—an embroidery done with gold thread—[194] and Meenakari[195]—the art of enamelling.